Skip to Content
 
Hobbs Straus successfully negotiated the Habitat Conservation Plan under the Endangered Species Act involving in-river habitat and hydroelectric dams on behalf of tribes with treaty fishing rights.

Self-Determination & Self-Governance

Attorney Biography - W. Gregory Guedel, Ph.D.

Of Counsel
Tel: 405.602.9425
Fax: 405.602.9426
Email: gguedel@hobbsstraus.com

Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act

Attorney Biography - Stephen V. Quesenberry

Partner
Tel: 510.280.5135
Fax: 510.849.0749
Email: squesenberry@hobbsstraus.com

Contract Support Cost

One of the biggest obstacles to tribal self-determination and self-governance has been the underfunding of “contract support costs” by the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) and the Indian Health Service (IHS).

Self-Determination & Self-Governance

Widely recognized as one of the most important legislative policies in modern Indian affairs, the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act (ISDEAA) gives tribes the right to assume responsibility for their own education and social services programs.

Attorney Biography - F. Michael Willis

Partner
Tel: 202.822.8282
Fax: 202.296.8834
Email: mwillis@hobbsstraus.com

Attorney Biography - Joseph H. Webster

Partner
Tel: 202.822.8282
Fax: 202.296.8834
Email: jwebster@hobbsstraus.com

Attorney Biography - Geoffrey D. Strommer

Partner
Tel: 503.242.1745
Fax: 503.242.1072
Email: gstrommer@hobbsstraus.com

Attorney Biography - Christopher T. Stearns

Of Counsel
Tel: 503.242.1745
Fax: 503.242.1072
Email: cstearns@hobbsstraus.com
Syndicate content


© 2010 HOBBS, STRAUS, DEAN & WALKER, LLP
WASHINGTON, DC  |  PORTLAND, OR  |  OKLAHOMA CITY, OK  |  SACRAMENTO, CA  |  ANCHORAGE, AK
X
Loading